October 19, 2022

2022 NAB Marconi Radio Award Winners Announced

Awards honor overall excellence and performance in radio

NEW YORK – The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) tonight presented the 2022 NAB Marconi Radio Awards during a dinner celebration held at the Javits Center at NAB Show New York. The ceremony, sponsored by Xperi, was hosted by media mogul Nick Cannon with entertainment from VERZUZ host DJ Scratch.

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

This year’s NAB Marconi Radio Award winners are:

Legendary Radio Station of the Year
KTAR-FM, Phoenix, Ariz.

Legendary Radio Station Manager
Joel Oxley, WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C.

Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year
Dan Patrick, Premiere Radio Networks, Inc., Sherman Oaks, Calif.

Major Market Personality of the Year
Greg Hill, WEEI-FM, Boston, Mass.

Large Market Personality of the Year
Chris O’Brien and Janeen Coyle, WGRR-FM, Cincinnati, Ohio

Medium Market Personality of the Year
Mo & StyckMan WUSY-FM, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Small Market Personality of the Year
Kristin Monica
KTXY-FM, Columbia, Mo.

Major Market Station of the Year
WSB-AM, Atlanta, Ga.

Large Market Station of the Year
WYCD-FM, Detroit, Mich.

Medium Market Station of the Year
WOWO-AM, Fort Wayne, Ind.

Small Market Station of the Year
WXFL-FM, Florence, Ala.

AC Radio Station of the Year
KSTP-FM, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.

Best Radio Podcast of the Year
“COLD Season 2”, KSL-FM, Salt Lake City, Utah

CHR Station of the Year
KTXY-FM, Columbia, Mo.

Classic Hits Station of the Year
WMGK-FM, Philadelphia, Pa.

College Station of the Year
WRHU-FM, Hofstra University, Hempstead, N.Y.

Country Station of the Year
KSCS-FM, Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas

News/Talk Station of the Year
KRMG-FM, Tulsa, Okla.

Religious Station of the Year
WFMV-AM, Columbia, S.C.

Rock Station of the Year
KCMQ-FM, Columbia, Mo.

Spanish Language Station of the Year
WZTU-FM, Miami, Fla.

Sports Station of the Year
WXYT-FM, Detroit, Mich.

Urban Station of the Year
WALR-FM, Atlanta, Ga.

Marconi finalists were selected by a task force of broadcasters, and the winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. The votes were tabulated by an independent firm.

Also at the event, award-winning radio and television personality Ryan Seacrest was honored with the Distinguished Service Award, the NAB’s highest honor, which recognizes those who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of broadcasting. Researchers and leading industry consultants Fred and Paul Jacobs received the National Radio Award for their outstanding leadership in broadcast radio.

About NAB Show New York

Produced by the National Association of Broadcasters and co-located with the AES New York 2022 Convention, NAB Show New York will be held October 17-20, 2022 (exhibits October 19-20) at the Javits Center. Located in the media capital of the world, NAB Show New York offers hands-on learning, discovery and insights into the technology and business strategies that are transforming media and entertainment. Through exhibits, conferences and networking events, NAB Show New York spotlights the products, practices and leaders promoting superior audio and video experiences.

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America’s broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at